2020 AAFP Congress of Delegates Goes Virtual

The 2020 AAFP Congress of Delegates is held annually each fall. This year, it is being held virtually, for the first time.

Originally scheduled to meet in Chicago, delegates and state chapter staff ended up safely joining AAFP Congress of Delegates virtually this year.

At each Congress of Delegates, resolutions are presented by each state chapter, debated during reference committees, and voted on during general session meetings. Due to the virtual format, states were limited to submitting no more than two resolutions each and they needed to be of an exigent nature. Delegates also vote to elect the new leadership of AAFP.

Your 2020-2021 Delegates and Alternates are:


Jesse N. Spencer, MD
Kirsten Stoesser, MD, FAAFP

Alternate Delegates:

Saphu Pradhan, MD
Sarah L. Woolsey, MD, MPH, FAAFP

A UAFP member call was held, previously, to debate and determine whether the Utah delegation will support or oppose each resolution. A list of resolutions and the position being taken by UAFP can be found here:


Over the next two weeks, delegates will be blogging about their experience and the activities of Congress. Blogs will be posted on our website at utahafp.org, twitter, or Facebook. We encourage you to follow along and learn about the actions of delegates on behalf of the full UAFP membership.

Congress of Delegates 2020 Schedule

Saturday, October 3

Reference Committee on Health and Public Safety
Reference Committee on Practice Enhancement

Sunday, October 4

Reference Committee on Advocacy
Reference Committee on Organization and Finance

Sunday, October 11

Meet the Candidates Session
Town Hall

Monday, October 12

AAFP Congress of Delegates, Day One

Tuesday, October 13

AAFP Congress of Delegates, Day Two
Election Results and Installation of new President